Skip to product information
1 of 1

Mount Matsu


Regular price
$48.00 SGD
Regular price
Sale price
$48.00 SGD


YĪN YĪN, the highly touted Dutch quartet from Maastricht, returns with a sonically expansive third album "Mount Matsu". Recorded collectively in their own studio in the Belgian countryside, the album is a kaleidoscope of sounds and influences, occupying a no man’s land between Khruangbin and Kraftwerk, surf music and Southeast Asian psychedelia, Stax soul and mutant 80s disco, City pop and Japanese instrumental folk (sōkyoku).

This LP sees YĪN YĪN at their most mature and adventurous stage yet. Infectious pentatonic melodicism calling for multiple rewinds. While their earlier releases were a result of the chemistry between its founding members, drummer Kees Berkers and multi-instrumentalist Yves Lennertz (who recently left the band), the group’s lineup change has brought forward a more democratic creative mode. Members Remy Scheren (bass), Robbert Verwijlen (keys) and Erik Bandt (guitar) from the onset joined Berkers in the songwriting process, making the music on Mount Matsu much more than a sum of its kaleidoscopic influences. — (via Bandcamp)

Label: Glitterbeat
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Limited Edition, Stereo, Rose Vinyl Edition
Country: Germany
Released: Jan 26, 2024
Genre: Rock, Funk / Soul, Folk, World, & Country
Style: Psychedelic Rock, Disco, Funk

File under: Psychedelic Rock