Skip to product information
1 of 1

The xx

Young Turks

Regular price
$45.00 SGD
Regular price
Sale price
$45.00 SGD


Coexist is the second studio album by English indie pop band the xx. After a break from touring for their 2009 debut album xx, the band members began to write songs individually before they recorded Coexist from November 2011 to May 2012. For the album, the xx drew on personal experiences for their songwriting, while their music was influenced by the electronic dance scene that occurred when they had been away on tour. The album was produced by the band's Jamie xx, who had pursued electronic dance on other projects and developed as a DJ prior to the album.

Coexist features a minimalist musical style with spatial arrangements, loose song structure, little dynamism, and experimentation with tension. Its songs are characterised by sparse elements such as simple chord progression, keyboard ostinatos, and fading motifs, while Jamie xx's production incorporates both programmed beats and live percussion instruments. Coexist touches on themes of heartbreak, loneliness, and intimacy. The lyrics, written by guitarist Romy Madley Croft and bassist Oliver Sim, address a failing relationship and changes in a romance with inner monologues and simple metaphors. – Wiki

“Refined progression, this is the sound of a band both expanding and consolidating.” – BBC

“The net result of the genre-flipping and lyrical play is that ‘Coexist’ is a difficult album. It hides more than ‘xx’ did, sneaking its miserable joys behind bare spaces, surprise time signatures and subtle dramas. But listen after listen it reveals just as many treasures beneath its layers of shimmering sadness.”- NME


Item description:        


The xx




Young Turks


Vinyl, LP, Album

CD, Album


UK & Europe

Release Date:



Indie, Electronica


Lo-Fi, Indie Rock

Catalog No: