Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Smile
A Light For Attracting Attention

XL Recordings

Regular price
$55.00 SGD
Regular price
Sale price
$55.00 SGD


The debut from Thom Yorke, Jonny Greenwood, and drummer Tom Skinner’s new group is instantly, unmistakably the best album yet by a Radiohead side project. 

This bid for transcendence amid chaos isn’t the only thing that’s familiar about The Smile. The trio also includes Yorke’s main songwriting partner in Radiohead, Jonny Greenwood, along with drummer Tom Skinner, whose eclectic resume includes work with jazz-funk explorers Sons of Kemet, electronic fusionist Floating Points, and UK rapper Kano. It’s the first time Yorke and Greenwood have collaborated on a major project outside of their main gig, and, not coincidentally, "A Light for Attracting Attention" sounds more like a proper Radiohead album than any of the numerous side projects the band’s members have done on their own.

We’ve got Greenwood’s lattice-like fingerpicking and saintly electric guitar tone. There’s Yorke’s voice, still in pristine form, wailing like an angel in limbo and gnashing like a punk who woke up on the wrong side of the gutter. There are synths and Greenwood’s sidelong orchestral flourishes signaling end times. Longtime producer Nigel Godrich is in the control room, giving each sound an immense and terrifying and beautiful glow. How about some wonky rhythms that keep your mind from slipping into passive mode? Yep, lots of those too. All due respect to the guys from Radiohead who are not in the Smile, but if A Light for Attracting Attention were presented as the triumphant follow-up to the group’s last album, 2016’s A Moon Shaped Pool, I’d bet that most people would have happily been fooled. — (via Pitchfork)

Label: XL Recordings
Format: 2x Vinyl, LP, Album
Released: Jun 17, 2022
Genre: Electronic, Rock
Style: Alternative Rock, Indie Rock

File under: Indie / Alternative