Skip to product information
1 of 1


!K7 Records

Regular price
$55.00 SGD
Regular price
Sale price
$55.00 SGD


A TAV Curator’s Pick

A mighty fine and diverse selection by Detroit-based Moodymann. The mix is led by an hour of downtempo soul and late-night smoky hip/trip hop beats, followed by another hour or so of uptempo nu-jazz, deep house and disco, and draws from a wide array of artists across genres including hip/trip-hop stalwarts Flying Lotus and Nightmares on Wax, electronica nu-jazz artists Little Dragon and Beady Belle, and indie folk artist Jose Gonzalez. Possibly one of the finest DJ-Kicks compilations to-date.

“Following a year that saw the 50th entry in the long-running series released to wide acclaim, DJ-Kicks returns in 2016 another landmark edition. Iconic Detroit DJ and producer Moodymann is at the helm for his first ever multi-artist DJ mix compilation. Born Kenny Dixon Jr., Moodymann is a one-of-a-kind electronic music icon, hailing from, and wholly synonymous with the Motor City. He is an outspoken, impossibly charismatic artist who has been putting a distinctive and soulful stamp on house and techno since the early 90s. Melting together jazz, funk, soul, blues and rock in captivating ways, he is responsible for some of electronic music's most definitive tracks, EPs and LPs on labels like Planet E, Peacefrog and his own KDJ and Mahogani Music imprints. As able to serve up the sweetest and most sensual sounds as he is the darkest and most depraved grooves, his own unique voice and stream of conscious musings infuse expertly sought-out samples for music that is decisively alive and authentic.

Moodymann's DJ sets are the stuff of legend. Often playing with his face hidden, Dixon eschews ubiquitous hits in favor of bringing the listener into his personal musical environment. He is not afraid to get on the mic, to speak his mind and to go against the grain. His unpredictable, esoteric sets are invariably treasure troves full of musical gems: some familiar, some unheard, and consistently surprising. And that's what makes him such a perfect fit with DJ-Kicks, a series that invites contributors to indulge their inner most passions for an intimate listening experience.

Across 75 minutes and 30 tracks, Moodymann does not disappoint: despite being a notorious vinyl fetishist, Dixon's aim is to present music of quality, not to one-up fellow collectors. Rather than serving up ridiculously rare or hard-to-find records, he instead focuses on creating a libidinous, blues-drenched mood that takes in heart-breaking soul, gorgeous hip-hop and love-fuelled house. In addition to cuts from his own creative circle, the mix features 11 exclusive Moodymann edits. Like everything Kenny Dixon Jr. touches, DJ-Kicks showcases the taste, skill, and soul of a dance music original.” – DJ Kicks


Track listing:

A1 Yaw - Where Will You Be

A2 Flying Lotus feat. Andreya Triana - Tea Leaf Dancers**

A3 Les Sins - Grind**

B1 Noir & Haze - Around (Solomun Vox)**

B2 Julien Dyne feat. Mara TK - Stained Glass Fresh Frozen

B3 Jitwam - Keepyourbusinesstoyourself

C1 Dopehead - Guttah Guttah

C2 Talc - Robot's Return (Modern Sleepover Part 2)**

C3 Peter Digital Orchestra - Jeux De Langues**

C4 Jai Paul - BTSTU**

D1 Beady Belle - When My Anger Starts To Cry**

D2 Daniel Bortz - Cuz You're The One**

D3 Joeski feat. Jesánte - How Do I Go On**

 E1 Nightmares On Wax - Les Nuits

E2 SLF & Merkin - Tag Team Triangle**

E3 Lady Alma - It's House Music

F1 Tirogo - Disco Maniac

F2 Kings Of Tomorrow feat. April - Fall For You (Sandy Rivera's Classic Mix)**

F3 Soulful Session, Lynn Lockamy - Hostile Takeover

** = Moodymann edit


Item description:        




DJ Kicks


!K7 Records ‎


3 × Vinyl, LP, Compilation



Release Date:



Electronica, Hip Hop, Funk / Soul


Soul, Downtempo, Deep House, House

Catalog No:

K7 327LP / 730003732713