!K7 Records

Tricky ‎– False Idols


!K7 Records

Tricky ‎– False Idols


Sold out
Add to Wishlist

False Idols is the ninth studio album by English trip hop musician Tricky, released on 23 May 2013. It is Tricky's first release on his label False Idols, an imprint of !K7.

The album features guest vocals by Francesca Belmonte, Fifi Rong, Nneka and Peter Silberman of The Antlers. The song "Nothing's Changed", which features Francesca Belmonte, was released on 27 February 2013.

Tricky compared False Idols to his debut album, Maxinquaye, concluding that "False Idols is a better album." He also stated that "False Idols was about him finding himself again." – Wiki

“It’s fantastic, filled with enough smoky seduction and downtempo grooves to fuel ’90s-themed key parties. Come to think of it, it should satisfy old-school Massive Attack fans more than the last couple of Massive Attack LPs” - Time Out

“Tricky’s 10th album is a welcome return to the menacing sound of Maxinquaye. ‘I’m Ready’, on which that familiar sprechgesang delivery is somehow both metronomic and distended, is exemplary, but the whole record – dosed with menace – sounds hungry.” - The Guardian

“That’s what False Idols represents. Tricky is a hip cat again. The great thing here, though, is he did it the old fashioned way: he just put out a great fucking record. False Idols is a massive triumph musically. There is no filler, in many places it sounds timeless. We’re a third through 2013, but I’d be shocked if this record is surpassed by many at year’s end.” - Pop Matters

Item description:


Tricky ‎


False Idols


Studio !K7


2 × Vinyl, LP, Album

CD, Album



Release Date:





Downtempo, Trip Hop, Broken Beat

Catalog No: