Miles Davis - Jazz Track | Mono



Miles Davis - Jazz Track | Mono


Add to Wishlist

A TAV Curator's Pick: One of Miles' lesser known albums, though no less evocative. Listen to gorgeous renditions of Miles' lonesome trumpet set against a moody noir soundtrack.

“Jazz Track” is a 1958 album by Miles Davis, released by Columbia Records.

Side 1 is the American issue of material recorded for the soundtrack of the 1958 Louis Malle film “Ascenseur pour l'échafaud (Elevator To the Gallows)”, and previously released in Europe as a 10 inch LP on the Fontana label.The soundtrack was recorded in Paris, December 4, 1957, using local musicians, including American expat drummer Kenny Clarke.

Side 2 consists of newly released material recorded by his sextet in 1958, including the standards “On Green Dolphin Street” and “Stella by Starlight”. These were the same musicians who would soon record Kind of Blue, including pianist Bill Evans and tenor saxophonist John Coltrane.

“An absolutely fascinating release. The French group is completely dominated by Miles, though Barney Wilen manages to play very well in his brief solos. But it is Miles one remembers from these tracks; he conveys the concentrated beauty and stark drama of, say, Billie Holiday. His sadness is devastating here, just as his lyricism is exquisite and the pain of his beauty almost insupportable. Some of the very best, if not the best, Miles solos are contained on the Elevator side of the LP.” – Jazz Beat

“Relatively unknown even by diehard Miles Davis fans, “Jazz Track” combines ten improvised cuts the trumpeter made in 1957 with European musicians in Paris for director Louis Malle’s film “Ascenseur Pour L’Echafaud (Elevator To the Gallows)” along with three compositions (the original “Fran-Dance,” and the standards, “On Green Dolphin Street” and “Stella by Starlight”) recorded by Davis' sextet in 1958 in New York….The two underrated sessions are collected here on one superior-sounding mono LP. …the three highlights from the sextet's session on May 26, 1958…. represent crucial music history as they preceded the creation of what remains the biggest-selling, most recognized album in jazz. Hearing everything unfold in mono, and in analog, on this engrossing LP is an unexpected and welcome gift no jazz lover should be without.“ – Music Direct


  • Miles Davis, trumpet

Side A:

  • Barney Wilen, tenor saxophone
  • René Urtreger, piano
  • Pierre Michelot, bass
  • Kenny Clarke, drums

Side B:

  • Miles Davis Sextet



  1.  Générique 
  2.  L'Assassinat De Carala
  3.  Sur L'Autoroute
  4.  Julien Dans L'Ascenseur 
  5.  Florence Sur Les Champs-Élysées
  6.  Dîner Au Motel
  7.  Évasion De Julien
  8.  Visite Du Vigile 
  9.  Au Bar Du Petit Bac 
  10. Chez Le Photographe Du Motel
  11. On Green Dolphin Street 
  12. Fran-Dance 
  13. Stella By Starlight 


Item description:          


Miles Davis


Jazz Track




Vinyl, LP, Limited Edition, Reissue, Mono



Release Date:

This reissue: 2013 | Original issue: 1958


Jazz, Soundtrack


Hard Bop, Trumpet

Catalog No:

CL 1268