Death Cab For Cutie
Narrow Stairs

Barsuk Records

Regular price
$39.00 SGD
Regular price
Sale price
$39.00 SGD


Narrow Stairs is the sixth studio album by indie rock band Death Cab for Cutie, originally released in 2008 on Atlantic and Barsuk Records.

“Four singles were released for the album: "I Will Possess Your Heart", "Cath...", "No Sunlight", and "Grapevine Fires". "I Will Possess Your Heart" reached number six on the U.S. Alternative Songs chart, was named iTunes UK song of the year 2008, and was nominated for the 2009 Grammy Award for Best Rock Song. "Cath..." and "Grapevine Fires", also reached number ten and number twenty-one on the U.S. Alternative Songs chart, respectively.

Narrow Stairs reached number one on the Billboard 200, making it Death Cab for Cutie's highest charting album to-date.” - Wiki

“Death Cab for Cutie frontman Ben Gibbard is the poet of a particular purgatory — the holding cell in your head that's filled with failed relationships and wrong roads taken. Death Cab's most memora-ble songs contain snapshots from its walls: Gibbard has sung about an incriminating kiss in a photo-booth, discovering forgotten pictures of an ex in his glove compartment, and an especially bleak Ko-dak moment from a doomed marriage. On "Cath .. . ," from the band's new Narrow Stairs, he finds a girl "in a hand-me-down wedding dress," and the details feel like knife twists: "As the flashbulbs burst, she holds a smile/Like someone would hold a crying child."

That sort of heartbreak defines Narrow Stairs. But where Death Cab's past records made it easy to empathize with Gibbard's narrators, the group's second major-label release zeros in on characters who are often more creepy than cuddly. The result is a dark, strangely compelling record that trades the group's bright melancholy for something nearer to despair.” – Rolling Stone

Item description:


Death Cab For Cutie


Narrow Stairs


Barsuk Records


Vinyl, LP, Album



Release Date:



Indie, Rock


Indie Rock

Catalog No: