Funk - DJ Kicks [Compilation]

!K7 Records

Regular price
$55.00 SGD
Regular price
Sale price
$55.00 SGD


"DaM-Funk is the kind of guy who seems like he’d make great company: laid-back, affable, personable. But to truly get the guy, to really understand him, is to know a deep love of music like no other. Dam’s contribution to the DJ-Kicks series gives you an opportunity to do just that. It’s a snapshot view into the mind of the pioneer of Modern-Funk music… DJ-Kicks invites you to get to know the man behind the shades.

Dam makes a lifetime of digging and absorbing music that feels as laid-back as the Santa Ana breeze. Years ago, he coined the term ‘Modern Funk’ to give context to his music. The elements of the synth-heavy and multi-layered style are gloriously displayed on DJ-Kicks. “Modern-Funk is a combination of all the sounds on the mix,” he explains. “Funk, Boogie, Electro, House, Modern-Soul, Ambient tones… a push and pull of nostalgia and progressiveness…”

At a satisfying 19 songs [12 on the LP], DâM-FunK’s DJ-Kicks lets grooves breathe. This is a mix to happily get lost within; a document in vibe. Unexpected contemporary joints mingle with lost gems from unlikely places. The exclusive DâM-FunK production “Believer” makes its debut on DJ-Kicks, an extensive instrumental composition that on it’s own could only be classified as signature Modern-Funk."  – DJ Kicks

"DaM-FunK‘s addictive brand of post-Prince analog funk has seen him rise through the ranks, from dropping 12″s on Stones Throw to collaborating with none other than Snoop Dogg. Now he’s taking his exhaustive appetite for tunes to !K7 with a mix for their long-running DJ-Kicks series.

The mix ... explores DaM-FunK’s patented “modern funk”, which according to the artist is a combination of sounds: “funk, boogie, electro, house, modern-soul, ambient tones… a push and pull of nostalgia and progressiveness…”.

The tracklist certainly backs up his statement, with tracks from house legend Gemini, R&B types Randell & Schippers, Italian innovator Gigi Masin and plenty more. There’s even an exclusive track from Funk himself – ‘Believer’ – and his recent collaboration with Nite Jewel (as Nite-Funk) ‘Can U Read Me?’." - FactMag



1          Gaussian Curve - Broken Clouds          

2          Index - Starlight

3          Gemini - Log In           

4          Randell & Schippers - Love Jam

5          Moon B - Oof 

6          Tony Palkovic - True To Yourself          

7          Nexus - Stand Up (Instrumental)           

8          Nicci Gable - Close To Who?   

9          Take Three - Tonite’s The Night (All Right)        

10         Brandon - Suzy Hijack  

11         Henning - Arrival / Departure   

12         DaM-FunK - Believer


Item description:        




DJ Kicks [Compilation]


!K7 Records


2 x Vinyl, LP, Album, Compilation



Release Date:






Catalog No:

Funk, Soul, House